Histocompatibility Antigens

Tissue that is transplanted from one person to another contains antigens that are foreign to the host. This is because all tissue cells, with the exception of mature red blood cells, are genetically marked with a characteristic combination of histocompatibility antigens on the membrane surface. The greater the variance in these antigens between the donor and the recipient in a transplant, the greater will be the chance of transplant rejection. Prior to organ transplantation, therefore, the "tissue type" of the recipient is matched to that of potential donors. Since the person's white blood cells are used for this purpose, histocom-patibility antigens in humans are also called human leukocyte antigens (HLAs). They are also called MHC molecules, after the name of the genes that code for them.

The histocompatibility antigens are proteins that are coded by a group of genes called the major histocompatibility complex (MHC), located on chromosome number 6. These four genes are labeled A, B, C, and D. Each of them can code for only one protein in a given individual, but because each gene has multiple alleles (forms), this protein can be different in different people. Two people, for example, could both have antigen A3, but one might have antigen B17 and the other antigen B21.

The closer two people are related, the closer the match between their histocompatibility antigens.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Essentials of Human Physiology

Essentials of Human Physiology

This ebook provides an introductory explanation of the workings of the human body, with an effort to draw connections between the body systems and explain their interdependencies. A framework for the book is homeostasis and how the body maintains balance within each system. This is intended as a first introduction to physiology for a college-level course.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment