Ictal Behavior Originating In The Temporal Lobes

Epileptologists often divide the temporal lobe into the mesial temporal structures, the lateral neocortex, and the insula. The mesial temporal structures include the hippocampus proper, the amygdala anterior to the hippocampus, the uncus, and the parahippocampal gyrus (Figures 2.3 and 2.6). The lateral temporal cortex includes Heschl's gyrus as the primary auditory area and Wernicke's language area, responsible for receptive language (Figure 2.3). The insula is usually not accessible to epilepsy surgery, therefore seizure manifestations originating in the insula are less well defined than mesial and lateral temporal lobe seizures. The insula is essential for gustatory and autonomic function (53).

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment